Wacky Warehouse Review – our First Time at Soft Play!

Wacky Warehouse Review

We went to our local Wacky Warehouse as it’s just up the road and also gave me a chance to practice my driving.

The soft play centre is attached to a pub – even better as it meant we could have a quick lunch afterwards.

Wacky Warehouse Review - lovefrommim.com Soft Play Childrens Play Centre

I’ve wanted to take Miss M to a soft play centre for so long but worried that she might be too small.  Most of my friends kids who go are 3 years’ old + but I asked around and was told that at 22 months, she’d love it – so off we went!

On the way in I don’t know who was more excited, me, Mr M or Miss M – I think perhaps it was Daddy though. :)

It cost us £3.75 which I suppose isn’t too bad bearing in mind the fun the kids seemed to be having inside.

Wacky Warehouse Review - lovefrommim.com Soft Play Childrens Play Centre

Miss M was completely over-awed for the first 5 minutes.  We took off our shoes and went inside and once she saw the slide, excitement took over and she did go a little hyperactive – so sweet!  Although she’s been on slides before, she thought it a better challenge to try and run UP it instead of slide down.

Wacky Warehouse Review - lovefrommim.com Soft Play Childrens Play Centre

I played with her for the first half of the session until I realised that at 6 month’s pregnant, I was a little restricted as to which bits I could take her on – I didn’t quite fancy getting stuck in a tunnel or up a ladder!Mr M had waited patiently but took over and the two of them had a whale of a time – jumping in the ball pool, climbing up and sliding down slides, running through tunnels – so much fun!

Our biggest challenge was, of course, trying to get her to leave when it was time to go.  She did NOT want to put her shoes on and go – until the promise of lunch swayed her a little bit more.  I think when we go again, we’ll have to plan it this way.  That said though, she can’t be the first child to protest at leaving!

Do you take your little ones to soft play?  We absolutely loved it and can’t wait to go again.  For rainy days especially (lots of those in England) it will be an ideal local place to head to.

Share:

20 Comments

  1. 22nd January 2015 / 10:11 am

    Aww! It sounds like you had a lovely time….
    Even at 7 years old my girl still cry’s when she has to leave soft play….Even my eldest who’s 12 still loves soft play even thought she’s getting a bit big for it now :) x

    • 24th January 2015 / 1:26 pm

      It was so much fun! Aww and definitely for the big kids too, bless your daughter crying when she leaves! If I was rich I’d have one in the garden – you could get so much done while they played :)

  2. 23rd January 2015 / 9:16 pm

    That sounds like fun! I would love it if you joined and contribute your awesome posts at my link party at City of Creative Dreams, starts on Fridays at 9AM eastern time :D Hope to see you there at City of Creative Dreams Link Party.

    • 24th January 2015 / 1:39 pm

      So much fun Shanice! I’ll find your linky :)

  3. 24th January 2015 / 10:15 am

    We’ve been taking Zach to soft play since he was a baby!! He loves it as do we! It’s always a great way to knacker him out too! When I was on maternity leave we went all the time!! Glad she had so much fun :) #weekendbloghop

    • 24th January 2015 / 1:41 pm

      Aww Lisa I bet we could have gone earlier too – it was so much fun! And yes, it did tire her out nicely :)

  4. 25th January 2015 / 9:53 am

    We have a season ticket! We have great fun and glad you did too x #SundayStars

    • 5th February 2015 / 11:55 am

      So much fun – my husband loved it especially ha! :)

  5. 25th January 2015 / 7:38 pm

    I do go, but it can be so busy and a bit manic. Now the twins are getting older it is getting easier but there was a stage when one would run one way, and the other another way! Yikes! It’s great though for getting out of the house, especially in bad weather – as you say! Thanks for sharing on #sundaystars Jess x

    • 5th February 2015 / 11:56 am

      Oh wow the twins would totally keep you busy at soft play – argh! It will be awesome when they’re older though – you can have a cup of tea while they occupy each other there :)

  6. 26th January 2015 / 11:04 am

    I can’t wait to take my little lady to soft play when she’s older. There isn’t one near us though which is a real shame. I’m hoping we’ll have moved by then though.

    #SundayStars

    Jenna at Tinyfootsteps xx

  7. 28th January 2015 / 12:29 pm

    It is perfect fun for them on wet days, looks like she loved it there, makes me want to add to our soft play barn at Coombe Mill. #sharewithme

    • 5th February 2015 / 12:01 pm

      It’s so perfect! Definitely recommend them – hours of fun for the kids and for the older kids, the parents can have a bit of a break too then :)

  8. 28th January 2015 / 9:16 pm

    Looks like Miss M had a great time. We haven’t been to soft play that often because I’m always worried about Tin Box Tot being a bit young – she’s two next month – but she loves it. I know what you mean about it becoming a bit more of a challenge at six months pregnant! We went a couple of weekends ago and I just had to sit still outside the ball pit while TBT threw herself around :) #Sharewithme

    • 5th February 2015 / 12:02 pm

      I know what you mean – she loves it but she’s still very young so have to watch her constantly or she’ll be knocked over by a bigger kid! :)

  9. 29th January 2015 / 9:17 pm

    Oh lovely. She is so cute. I know alot of people don’t like soft play areas but I love them. I have so much fun with my two every week at soft play and when it’s always raining its’ the best kid invention ever. We should have them back home in the states. They would be so popular. Enjoy your soft play time. It’s great when your littles ones are old enough you don’t have to squeeze through all the small spaces and can have a hot cup of coffee. :) Thank you ever so much for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

    • 5th February 2015 / 12:03 pm

      Thanks Jenny – she’s such a cutie! Such a good invention for bad weather, that of course we get a lot of here. I wonder whether they have them in Australia too where we just moved back from! :)

  10. 21st February 2015 / 12:29 am

    My daughter is 22 months today! We visit a play gym every friday afternoon and have done since before she was 1. They are scary places at first, and we’ve had a few incidents with other kids not being so friendly. I think as shes now older its good she can explore and play a little on her own/with other kids and although I watch Georgia like a hawk I’ve still struggled to stop her grabbing somebody or pushing somebody down a slide because they were taking too long. Luckily we go with my Auntie and her grandson who is 4 and hes pretty good at watching out for her. Good luck with more visits!

    • 3rd March 2015 / 8:57 pm

      Ah yes, you definitely have to keep an eye on the other kids – they get a bit ‘over-excited’! Thanks so much! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge